Scammers try to steal prissears.com
I am the proud owner of prissears.com, which is hosted by bluehost. It’s my own domain, I have my own web site there and some development sites I am working on for other people.
I was surprised to receive a letter yesterday from Domain Registry of America (www.droa.com) telling me my domain name was about to expire and that I had to renew it with them. What is going on here? These people don’t hold my domain name, which isn’t expiring right now. Why are they asking me for money?
I’ll tell you why – they are trying to steal control of my domain name! It’s a scam known as “domain-slamming.” They scraped my contact info from bluehost and are trying to trick me and rip me off.
How do they get away with this? That’s a good question – they have been ripping people off for at least the last 8 years but are still going strong. Here’s the wikipedia page about them:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Domain_Registry_of_America
Here’s the FTC page about them being barred in 2003 from these practices (doesn’t seem to have stopped them!) http://www.ftc.gov/opa/2003/12/domainreg.shtm
They are still in business and still ripping people off. I’m reporting them to the FTC, (https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/) for what good it may do me.
Here is a 5MB PDF of the letter they sent me. The long page of tiny type includes such knee-slappers as “If we are sued or threatened with lawsuit in connection with Service(s) provided to you, we may turn to you to indemnify us and to hold us harmless…” and “In the event of a charge back by a credit card company…We will reinstate your rights to and control over these Services solely at our discretion, and subject to our receipt of the unpaid fee(s) and our then-current reinstatement fee, currently set at $200(US Dollars).”
In other words, “If you send us money and then realize you’ve been ripped off and stop the charges, we’ll hold your domain name hostage until you cough up $200.” And “Don’t bother trying to sue us because we say you can’t.”
Take-home message: there are companies out there that only exist to try to rip you off. Be skeptical. If you get come-ons like this in the paper mail or your email, report them to the FTC and do not send them any money.
If you have already been ripped off by these people, my sympathies. Unless you spend a lot of money it may be a long while before you own your domain name again. Report them to the FTC, the Better Business Bureau, and try calling the contact info on bottom of this FTC page.



A short horror novel with an interesting claim to fame – self published online, it was movie optioned and picked up by a major publisher.
